News Release

NCSBN Award Ceremony to Honor Outstanding Nurse Regulators

Posted 5/28/2020
NCSBN will recognize its dedicated and exceptional membership and guests at its annual awards ceremony during the NCSBN Midyear Meeting, held in Seattle, March 10, 2021.
Media Contact: Dawn M. Kappel
Director, Marketing & Communications
312.525.3667 direct
CHICAGO –NCSBN will recognize its dedicated and exceptional membership and guests at its annual awards ceremony during the NCSBN Midyear Meeting, held in Seattle, March 10, 2021.
Specific award recipients include:
Lori Scheidt, MBA-HCM, executive director, Missouri State Board of Nursing, will be honored with the prestigious R. Louise McManus Award. Individuals receiving this award have made sustained and significant contributions through the highest commitment and dedication to the mission and vision of NCSBN.
Carmen A. Catizone, MS, DPh, RPh, former executive director/secretary,  National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, will receive the Founders Award a prestigious award given only upon occasion that an individual with ethics, integrity and sincerity has demonstrated the highest regard for the ideals and beliefs upon which NCSBN was founded.
The North Carolina Board of Nursing will be awarded the Regulatory Achievement Award that recognizes the member board or associate member that has made an identifiable, significant contribution to the mission and vision of NCSBN in promoting public policy related to the safe and effective practice of nursing in the interest of public welfare.
Adrian Guerrero, CPM, board staff, Kansas State Board of Nursing, will receive the Meritorious Service Award, which is granted to a member for significant contributions to the mission and vision of NCSBN.
Patricia Sharpnack, DNP, RN, CNE, NEA-BC, ANEF, FAAN, board member (recent past president), Ohio Board of Nursing, will be given the Elaine Ellibee Award, that is granted to a member who has served as a board president within the past two years and who has made significant contributions to NCSBN.
Mary A. Baroni, PhD, RN, board member, Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission, will receive the Exceptional Contribution Award, which is given for significant contribution by a member who is not a president or executive officer and has demonstrated support of NCSBN’s mission.
David Swankin, Esq., president and CEO of the Citizen Advocacy Center (CAC), will be presented with the Distinguished Achievement Award the honor which is given to individuals or organizations whose contributions or accomplishments have impacted NCSBN’s mission and vision.                
In addition, service awards will be given to the following executive officers of nursing regulatory bodies (NRBs):
Five Years
Peggy Benson, MSN, MSHA, NE-BC, executive officer, Alabama Board of Nursing
Margaret Clifton, MS, RN-BC, CLNC, state director, Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education
Kim Esquibel, PhD, MSN, MPA, RN, executive director, Maine State Board of Nursing
Laurie Janes, MSc, RN, executive director, Nurses Association of New Brunswick
Carole Mercier, MSc, RN, ASC, secretary general, Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec
Phyllis Mitchell, MSN, RN, executive director, Vermont State Board of Nursing
Stacey Pfenning, DNP, APRN, FNP, FAANP, executive director, North Dakota Board of Nursing
Margaret Sesepasara, MS, RN, executive secretary, American Samoa Health Services Regulatory Board
Lorena Silva, MSN-L, MBA, DNP, RN, executive director, Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing
Sue Smith, MAOL, RN, CEO & registrar, Nova Scotia College of Nursing
Katherine Stansfield, MN, RN, CEO & registrar, College of Registered Nurses of Manitoba
10 Years
Joe Baker, Jr., executive director, Florida Board of Nursing
Jim Cleghorn, MA, executive director, Georgia Board of Nursing
Sue Tedford, MNSc, APRN, executive director, Arkansas State Board of Nursing
Lee Ann N. Teshima, executive officer, Hawaii Board of Nursing
15 Years
Betsy Houchen, JD, MS, RN, executive director, Ohio Board of Nursing
25 Years
Joey Ridenour, MN, RN, FAAN, executive director, Arizona State Board of Nursing
Kathy Thomas, MN, RN, FAAN, executive director, Texas Board of Nursing
35 Years
Elizabeth Lund, MSN, RN, former executive director, Tennessee Board of Nursing
Founded March 15, 1978, as an independent not-for-profit organization, NCSBN was initially created to lessen the burdens of state governments and bring together nursing regulatory bodies (NRBs) to act and counsel together on matters of common interest. It has evolved into one of the leading voices of regulation across the world. 
NCSBN’s membership is comprised of the NRBs in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and four U.S. territories — American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands and the Virgin Islands. There are three exam user members. There are also 27 associate members that are either NRBs or empowered regulatory authorities from other countries or territories. 
Mission: NCSBN empowers and supports nursing regulators in their mandate to protect the public.
The statements and opinions expressed are those of NCSBN and not individual members.