Text size: Size - small Size - medium Size - large

National Nurse Aide Assessment Program (NNAAP)


The NNAAP consists of two components; a written or oral portion and a skills-demonstration portion. The oral portion is offered in English and Spanish. Each candidate must successfully complete both components of the exam before a state can add their name to the state nurse aide registry. The state registry is used to assure employers that the potential hire has met the federal and state requirements for employment.

NNAAP Clients

25 NCSBN jurisdictions utilize the NNAAP exam to determine nurse aide competency. Click on the 25 jurisdictions below to learn more about testing in your area.  

 Alabama Alaska   California
 District of Columbia   
 Guam *   Louisiana
Mariana Islands *
 Minnesota       Mississippi
 New Hampshire North Carolina
 North Dakota
 Pennsylvania  Rhode Island South Carolina
 Virgin Islands  Washington

* No additional information is available at this time 

For information on becoming a NNAAP client, please contact us at nnaap_maceinfo@ncsbn.org.

Tags: Exam Process,Locations,National Nurse Aide Assessment Program,NCSBN