Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) Implementation

NLC: Nurse Licensure Compact: Unlocking Access to Care Across the Nation

The Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) increases access to care while maintaining public protection at the state level. 

Under the eNLC, nurses are able to provide care to patients in other eNLC states, without having to obtain additional licenses. Nurses with an original NLC multistate license will be grandfathered into the eNLC. New applicants residing in compact states will need to meet 11 uniform licensure requirements. Those who do not meet the new licensure requirements may still be eligible for a single state license. 

The Road from the NLC to the eNLC

Original NLC Map: 25 states need to transition to the enhanced NLC; arrow showing movement to new enhanced NLC map: eNLC needs 26 states enacted to become effective.

Note: The eNLC has been implemented as of January 19, 2018.

What's the difference between the effective date and the implementation date of the eNLC?

In 2014, the BON executive officers convened a summit to update and enhance the NLC.  The newly enhanced compact or eNLC was approved by the BONs on May 4, 2015, as a licensure model of the future.  It replaces the original NLC and adds extra protections.  The original NLC states are currently enacting state legislation enabling them to transition into the eNLC.  New states, not previously members of the original NLC, are also enacting state legislation to become members of the eNLC.

Is your state moving forward with the eNLC?


Enhanced NLC States Not Previously a Member of the Original NLC

Enhanced NLC States Previously a Member the Original NLC