

2021 NCSBN Awards Ceremony - 2020 Award Recipient – Mary Baroni Video Transcript ©2021 National Council of State Boards of Nursing Inc.

©2021 National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.

Event 2021 NCSBN Awards Ceremony

More info: https://www.ncsbn.org/16100.htm

Presenter

NCSBN Awards Committee

- [Announcer] 2020 Exceptional Contribution Award. Mary Baroni is known as an extraordinarily gifted nursing clinician, educator, researcher, and leader. The 35-year legacy of significant contributions to the nursing profession, she was appointed to the Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission in 2013 and currently holds the position of vice chair.

Since her appointment, she has also served as the chair of the Nursing Program Approval Panel as well as a member of other committees and panels. Mary served in numerous capacities with NCSBN's Institute for Regulatory Excellence or IRE, including as chair of the committee overseeing the institute, she was instrumental in selecting and mentoring fellows to be leaders in evidence-based nursing regulation.

She also performed ongoing reviews and approvals of project proposals. Following her term as IRE chair, she was asked to participate in the advisory group for the International Center for Regulatory Scholarship and still serves in that capacity. Among her many accomplishments at the state level, she was the co-leader responsible for establishing a groundbreaking state-wide direct transfer agreement and educational pathway to assure seamless progression from ADN to BSN completion.

For her consistent demonstration of regulatory excellence and support of NCSBN's mission, Mary was presented with the Exceptional Contribution Award in 2020.

- [Mary] Good afternoon and greetings from Seattle, Washington. It's been my honor to have served as a member of the Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission since 2013. And this summer, my second full four-year term will come to an end. While I will continue to serve in a pro-time capacity, including ongoing participation with the ICRS Advisory Panel, one chapter is closing while another unfolds.

To be nominated for this Exceptional Contribution Award by Washington colleagues and then selected by NCSBN Awards Committee for this recognition is both a moving and a humbling experience for me.

I feel incredibly proud to be one of several Washington recipients of awards from NCSBN beginning in 2013 when Dr.

Susan Woods received the same award and then served as my mentor as I began my own journey into nursing regulation. We were elated in 2015 when Washington State reserved the Regulatory Achievement Award, and I follow in the footsteps of other esteemed Washington colleagues who have been similarly honored. These include Rhonda Taylor, Mindy Schaffner, Catherine Woodard, Lois Hoell, and Suellyn Masek.

I've had some incredible role models along the way. And to my colleagues who are continuing to serve, I hope that I've provided you some of the same. In 2015, I began serving on the Institute for Regulatory Excellence Committee first as a member and then its chair.

In 2018, '19, a new approach to supporting leadership development and regulatory excellence was emerging. And this is now known as the ICRS. The IRE committee was charged with phasing out and expediting the usual three-year pathway for the remaining fellows until approximately 12 months. The collaborative effort it took to accelerate this pathway was exceptional and could not have been realized without the remarkable efforts of my fellow IRE committee members with whom I share credit for this award.

These include Dr. Natalie Baker, Alabama board member, Dr. Cynthia Bienemy, former Louisiana board member, Dr. Christine Penney, British Columbia College of Nursing and Midwives, Dr. Sue Petula, former nursing education advisor with Pennsylvania board, Dr. Susan VanBeuge, Nevada board member and current president, Dr.

Patricia Sharpnack, Ohio board member and past president, and Dr. Pam Zickafoose, Delaware board executive director. I am honored by this award and reminded that we are all part of something much larger and more important than any one of us and that exceptional contributions most often occur when we share in a common good faith and a collaborative spirit.

And to that end, I share this honor with my Washington colleagues both past and present as well as with the most amazing final IRE committee that could ever be imagined. Thank you so much.