Board of Directors

Jay P. Douglas, MSM, RN, CSAC, FRE, President


Jay Douglas has been the Executive Director of the Virginia Board of Nursing since 2002. Prior to assuming her current position, she served as Deputy Executive Director for Discipline at the Board of Nursing for three years. She also has served as the Vice Chair of the Interstate Commission of the Nurse Licensure Compact (ICNLC). Jay is a Fellow of NCSBN's Institute of Regulatory Excellence.

Adrian Guerrero, CPM, Treasurer


Adrian Guerrero, CPM, Director of Operations, Kansas State Board of Nursing was elected Treasurer in August 2019. He previously served as Area II Director, chair of the Nursys Committee and has been a member of the Fraud Detection Committee, Commitment to Ongoing Regulatory Excellence (CORE) Committee, Data Policy Review Task Force and Nursys Advisory Panel. Adrian has worked for the board of nursing for over eighteen years. He is responsible for the strategic direction and implementation of advanced technology and business solutions, and oversees the Information Technology, Licensing, Human Resources, and Procurement Departments, as well as the agency's operational budget.

Lori Scheidt, MBA-HCM, Area II Director


Lori Scheidt, MBA-HCM, is the Executive Director of the Missouri State Board of Nursing. She has served on numerous NCSBN committees including chair of the Fraud Detection Committee and Member Board Agreement Review Committee. She served as Vice-Chair of the Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators Executive Committee for four years and has been very active with the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact including serving on the Legislative Strategy Team and Model Rules and Implementation Work Group. She has been the recipient of the Exceptional Contribution and Meritorious Service Awards.

Phyllis Polk Johnson, MSN, RN, FNP-BC, Area III Director


Phyllis Polk Johnson was appointed the Executive Director of the Mississippi Board of Nursing in 2017.   She has served on the Nurse Licensure Compact Executive Committee for the past two years.  In November 2014, she joined the staff of the Mississippi Board of Nursing as the Director of Advanced Practice and has served in the following capacities:  Director of Investigations, Board of Medical Licensure Advisory Board for Physician Assistants, Advisory Board Project Change Initiative, Pharmacy Board PMP Advisory Council, Governor’s Heroin and Opioid Drug Task Force, 2020 Governor’s COVID-19 Advisory Group.  Phyllis was selected as the Mississippi Business Journal Business Woman of the Year (2019). 

Valerie Fuller, PhD, DNP, AGACNP-BC, FNP-BC, FAANP, Area IV Director


Valerie Fuller is the Board President and APRN member of the Maine State Board of Nursing. She served on the APRN Consensus Committee from 2012-2014, the APRN Distance Learning Education Committee from 2014-2015 and as the Chair of the APRN Education Committee from 2015-2016. She is currently the board liaison to the NCLEX Examination (NEC) Committee. 

Cathy Borris-Hale, RN, MHA, Director-at-Large


Cathy Borris-Hale was appointed as Chair of the District of Columbia Board of Nursing in 2012; in December of 2016 she joined the staff of the DC Board of Nursing as the Nurse Specialist II for Discipline & Practice. She served as Chair of NCSBN's Resolutions Committee in 2017 and was a member of the Medical Marijuana Regulatory Guidelines Committee from 2016-2018.

Anne Coghlan, MScN, RN, Director-at-Large


Anne Coghlan is the Executive Director and CEO of the College of Nurses of Ontario. A founding member of the Canadian Council of Registered Nurse Regulators, Anne also served as the Council’s President from 2012 to 2016. She served on NCSBN’s NCLEX Exam Committee from 2015 to 2019.  Anne currently serves as a member of the Advisory Group for Regulatory Excellence, the International Nurse Regulator Collaborative, the International Relations Committee of the Council for Licensure, Enforcement and Regulation, the Editorial Advisory Board of the Journal of Nursing Regulation and NCSBN’s International Center for Regulatory Scholarship Education Committee. Anne leads an organization that strives to be public-facing, transparent and collaborative in achieving its vision of leading in regulatory excellence.

Amy Fitzhugh, JD, Director-at-Large


Amy Fitzhugh is the Chief Legal Officer of the North Carolina Board of Nursing.  She served on the Standards Development Committee from 2014-2018, as chair of the Model Act and Rules Committee from 2018-2020, as chair of the NLC Policy Committee in 2019 and she currently serves on the NLC Rules Committee.

Mark Majek, MA, PHR, SHRM-CP, Director-at-Large


Mark Majek, MA, PHR, SHRM-CP, currently serves as the Operations Director for the Texas Board of Nursing. He previsously served on various NCSBN committees including NURSYS, Finance, Leadership Succession, and Bylaws. He also served on the Board of Directors as the Area III Director from 2001 through 2005.